Athisaya Pathiri

athisaya pathiri-1This is a name by which I know the dish. The name of the dish loosely translates to “Surprise Bread” in English.

The first time I have tasted the dish was at Doha, at one of my aunt’s friends place. She is a great cook and creates great dishes! That week we stayed in Doha (I was in the middle school at that time, I think) was a foodie dream. I don’t remember all the dishes that we had, but we had a lot of invites to my aunt’s friend’s places for food and all were great food experiences.

But this one dish really fascinated me. I have only had stuffed things like samosas and the erachi pathiris up til then. But that day the layers of crepes and the chicken filling fascinated me. All the good manners and etiquette that my parents taught me to follow when going out for dinner at flew out the window! I munched on this one dish to my heart’s content. I did not look around to see if everyone had enough. I am sure my mom would have been embarrassed to the core. But I was content!

I have since then replicated this dish a lot of times after that and this is my best version. The name of the dish might sound funny, but to me the name was really appropriate at the time I first ate this. Truly amazed, I was!

athisaya pathiri-2

Ingredients

For the crepe

Maida – 1 cup

Corn flour -1 tbsp.

Oil – 1 tsp

Egg – 1

Milk – ½ cup

Water – ¾ cup

Salt – ½ tsp

Pepper – 1 tsp

For the masala

Chicken – 1 cup (Boiled with a little chilli powder, turmeric powder and salt, shredded)

Onion – 2 medium sized

Green chillies – 10

Ginger garlic paste – 1 tsp

Garam Masala – ½ tsp

Pepper – ½ tsp

Turmeric powder – ¼ tsp

Curry leaves – 1 sprig finely chopped

Coriander leaves – a handful finely chopped

Oil – 2 tbsp.

To assemble

Egg – 1

Milk – ½ cup

Maida – 1tbsp

Salt – ¼ tsp

Pepper – ¼ tsp

Method

For the crepe

Mix all the ingredients and make a thin batter

Take a non-stick frying pan in almost the same dimension or bigger than the pan in which you are going to assemble the pathiri in

Pour a ladle of batter to the oiled pan and cook till just done

For the Masala

In 2 tbsp. of oil, sauté the onions till translucent

Finely shred or crush the green chillies and add to the onions. Sauté for a few minutes

Add the ginger garlic paste and sauté till the raw smell goes

The mixture should now have a light brownish colour to it

Add the turmeric power and stir around till all the mixture is yellow in colour

Add the shredded chicken to this and mix around till all the chicken is coated with the masala

Add garam masala, pepper salt and the leaves

Stir around for another 2 min and let it cool down

Assembling it

Grease a saucepan with ghee

Mix the eggs milk and maida lightly

Dip the crepe in the egg mixture and lay it as the first layer in the saucepan

Put a tbsp. of the chicken mixture on this layer of the crepe and spread it over the crepe

Dip another crepe in the egg mixture and lay it on top

Repeat the steps till the height you want for your pathiri, ending with the crepe. I usually layer around 6 to 7 creps for a 6 in diameter saucepan and 4-5 layers for an 8 in diameter saucepan.

After you have put the last layer of the crepe, pour the rest of the egg mixture on it. Using a handle of a spoon pry the sides of the crepes so that some of the egg mixture can flow down the sides

Put the saucepan on a very low flame and cook for 20 min. Now the you can see the sides of the pathiri will have crisped up a little. Flip this onto a plate or a cutting board.

Very carefully lift the pathiri and place it back into the saucepan, the top of the pathiri now on the bottom. (it might sound scary, but do give it a try)

If the above step is too challenging, you can take a frying pan and cook the top of the pathiri on it, in a little bit of ghee

Wait for it to cool, before cutting through the layers.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Ninu says:

    Sounds amazing ! But I ate one the other day and I really disliked the egg taste . Also since I’m stil allergic to egg ( sometimes can’t tell when it will cause tummy ache ) I prefer to stay away. Is there anything that can substitute the egg ?

    Like

    1. Zerin Bobby Hussain says:

      I don’t add so much eggs. I add one and add maida and milk to it to make the egg mixture to dip the crepe layers. You can take the egg out and use only the maida and milk. I have not tried it, but I think it will work

      Like

  2. Seeing your chatti pathiri post on IG, I got to making and clicking it again for the blog during this weekend! Hehe… umma also learned this as Athishaya Pathiri and then blogging told me that it is more called as chatti pathiri, whatever it is called, the athishayam it gives each time when it is prepared (though a bit labourious) is amazing|!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Henna says:

    Haha, I love the story!
    I’ve never tasted anything like this before, and I can only imagine how delicious all the layers and textures are!

    Like

  4. Shanaz Rafiq says:

    I like the golden colour of your ‘surprize bread’ i like that name. I have never tried it till now….just waiting if any of my blogger friends could treat me on this

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Famidha says:

    Ah you again! I think we already discussed on IG about the name 😀 Here for the records. Chatti pathiri is what we call too, but in Calicut side, chatti pathiri is the sweet version. I learnt Athisiya name in the blog world lol. Looks perfect and I am thinking I will make this right now..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Zerin Bobby Hussain says:

      😂😂 I think the naming of all our palaharams are really confusing!! I got sixteen names for erachi pathiri from different areas of Kerala !!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

