Coffee and cake Ice-cream

coffee n cake-4As the summer has set in full force in my part of the world, I am leaning towards making popsicles and ice-creams. I like making ice-creams at home, as it gives me the freedom to add and combine flavours.

I have tried many techniques to making ice-creams but have always ended up getting cream icicles. The shards of ice that sets in the ice-cream doesn’t give a smooth creamy ice-cream.  All my no churn ice creams were failures. I started to read up on cookbooks dedicated to ice creams. I came up on several yummy combinations and imagining even more in my head. Then my friend got the ice cream maker attachment for her kitchen aid. I told her, I want to borrow it for a week. What a week that was, when I got hold of the churner! Thank you Ninu!

I started off with the basic vanilla, then chocolate. I grew confident by each ice cream that I made and started adding different flavourings and sauces. I parted with Ninu’s ice cream churner with great grief. But to my joy, that birthday my family gifted me my very own ice- cream churner!

I have made several ice creams in my churner. This ice cream flavour combo will be a sure hit amongst coffee lovers. For this ice cream I used a very strong bru filter coffee concoction, which gave it and intense coffee flavour and added chunks of chocolate orange pound cake. A spoonful of the ice cream will give you the feeling of having coffee with a nice chocolatey chocolate cake. Yummm….

Ingredients

  1. Milk – ½ cup
  2. Water – ½ cup
  3. Whipping cream – 2 cups
  4. Bru Coffee granules – 2 -3 tbsp.
  5. Vanilla extract – 1 tsp
  6. Sugar – ¾ cup
  7. Egg yolks – 5
  8. Salt – a pinch
  9. Chocolate Orange Pound cake – 4-5 slices cut into tiny cubes

coffee n cake-1

Method

  1. In a saucepan, boil the water and ½ cup of sugar. When the sugar dissolves add the coffee granules and switch off the flame and add vanilla extract. Cover the pan and let the coffee seep in this for an hour.
  2. In a bowl, whisk the egg yolk with the remaining ¼ cup of sugar.
  3. Strain the coffee mixture through a muslin cloth to get a thick concoction. Add the ½ cup of milk to this.
  4. Place cold cream in a bowl that is set over another bowl filled with ice water (This is to reduce the temperature of the cooked custard fast), also keep a strainer handy.
  5. Heat the coffee mixture till hot, not boiling.
  6. Gradually add the heated milk mixture to the egg yolk mixture while whisking continuously.
  7. Once all of it is incorporated into the eggs, pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan
  8. On a medium heat, let custard base cook while stirring continuously with a wooden ladle.
  9. This mixture starts to thicken lightly after about 5 mins. At this point reduce the flame to low and continue stirring. This custard should be cooked till a point where it coats the wooden spoon. Draw a line on the coated spoon with you finger, if the line stays intact switch off the flame
  10. Immediately, pour the custard through the sieve into the cold cream.
  11. Mix the custard into the cream, add a pinch of salt and let it cool
  12. Once cool let it sit in the fridge for 2-3 hrs.
  13. Place the container that you want to store the finished ice-cream in the freezer
  14. To churn the ice cream, if you have an ice cream churner with a built-in compressor and freezer, you can directly pour the custard and start churning it. If your ice cream machine needs prior cooling, do as per the directions of the machine and churn the custard into a luscious, indulgent ice – cream.
  15. It takes about 20 min to churn the ice cream.
  16. Once the ice cream has finished churning, pour into the storage container, add the chocolate pound cake. Fold in the chocolate cake into the ice-cream. Close the container tightly and freeze.
  17. Freeze for 4-5 hrs or overnight.

The process seems lengthy. But, believe me when I tell you, it’s totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

