Mochaccino Blondie

blondies-3My kids are hardcore brownie fans. In fact, they love all the baked things I make, especially if it involves chocolate. A pan of brownie disappears so quickly that I always think its magic.

I had never tried blondies, when my friend suggested to make it. She told me it tastes great with vanilla ice-cream. I thought, I should try it. I looked over several recipes and like the sound of caramelly, buttery slabs of goodness with ice cream.

I thought, the kids will not like it as much as the brownies and I would get to eat more than the trimmings. But I was wrong. They loved the blondies too… My trial batch of the blondies got over, before I had the chance to try it with ice cream!

This blondie is very versatile. Addition of chocolate chips (white, milk, semisweet or a mix of all), walnuts, pecans, oats, muesli, different flavourings makes the blondies better.

I have added instant coffee powder and chocolate chips to this blondie. The coffee flavour is a great addition to the ooey gooey butterscotchy flavour of the blondies.

The blondies are a great dish to make ahead for a picnic.  It makes a great dessert for your picnic meal. So, this is my last entry to the blogging marathon. My entry under Picnic Hamper.
blondies-2

Ingredients

  1. Butter – 115gm unsalted, melted
  2. Brown muscovado sugar – 1 cup, lightly packed
  3. Egg – 1 large
  4. Vanilla extract – 1 ½ tsp
  5. Instant Coffee powder – 1 ½ tsp
  6. semi-sweet Chocolate chips – ½ cup
  7. Sea salt flakes – 1 tsp
  8. All-purpose flour –  130 gm / 1 cup
  9. Baking powder – ¼ tsp

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C. Prepare an 8X8 inch baking pan with baking paper or aluminium foil.
  2. In a bowl, measure out the sugar and mix the melted butter to this. Stir till the sugar is completely mixed with the butter.
  3. Add the egg to this and mix vigorously. The mix will become smooth like buttercream.
  4. Fold the flour, coffee powder (I used bru instant coffee powder) and baking powder to this mixture. Mix until there are no streaks of flour in the mixture. Do not overmix.
  5. Add in the chocolate chips and salt and give it a stir
  6. Pour the batter into the prepared pan
  7. Bake for 20 – 25 min
  8. Test after 20 min and adjust the time accordingly. The top of the blondie should have a crinkly paper like texture and the toothpick inserted should come out clean.

The brownie will have a slightly chewy exterior and a fudgy center. Yumm with a glass of milk.

 
BMLogo

Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing this BM#76

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Priya Suresh says:

    Omg, how delicious this mochaccino blondie, feel like grabbing few slices and enjoying rite now.

    Like

  2. Wow ! The blondies look gorgeous ! No magic to finish these , even I can finish all in one go !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love blondies, the cousin of brownies for sure! I wish bakes would disappear in my house just like in yours, MaShaAllah… mine stays and I am forced to lunge some into my tummy… :/ Totally love the cracked look at the top, perfectly baked!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Zerin Bobby Hussain says:

      Alhamdulillah for the disappearing bakes or else I would have a huge problem with my weight!

      Like

  4. gayathriraani says:

    So perfectly made and sliced. The blondies look so beautiful..

    Like

  5. Pavani says:

    Yummy yummy blondhies. Love the mochaccino flavor in there.

    Like

  6. Perfectly made blondies, no wonder they disappeared in a flash!

    Like

  7. Delicious blondie.. This is just awesome!!

    Like

  8. Srivalli Jetti says:

    hahaha..I guess its the same case with all kids..even mine attack the brownies that I get to see only the pan..must try these blondies..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am not a big chocolate fan and blondies are my preferred type of brownies – these look awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

