Egg muffin omelette

Are you a person who likes eggs and toast for breakfast? If your answer is, “Yes” I am in the same boat as you are. I love eggs in any form. If I was ever to get breakfast in bed (like in the movies), I would definitely prefer moist scrambled creamy perfectly seasoned eggs on a warm buttered toast…

Since I began my low card diet regime, I have eaten a lot of eggs. I have not yet come to hate it, but it gets monotonous. I kind of miss idly-sambar (I am not an idly fan) for breakfast.

I have made all kinds of egg dishes in the past month. Adding a lot of veggies to make it filling omelette, eating it hard boiled and making it scrambled when the mornings get too busy.

I have been craving for cakes and cupcakes (not accounting the couple of bites of cakes that I have sneaked!!!). To get a new version of the much loved egg, I decided to cook the eggs in the form of a muffin!

When you are making them, make sure that everyone is ready to eat. This muffin is best served warm. I guess since it does not have any flour in it, the muffin collapses as soon as the steam escapes. So get everyone on the breakfast table, when 10 min of baking time remains.

Omlette cupcakes

Ingredients

  1. Eggs – 5
  2. Onion – ¼ of a small one diced finely
  3. Green chillies – 1
  4. Garlic – 1 clove
  5. Spinach – 1 bunch coarsely chopped
  6. Red Capsicum – ¼ piece diced finely
  7. Cream – 2 tbsp.
  8. Salt – ½ tsp
  9. Pepper – 1 tsp
  10. Cream cheese – 1 cube of kiri cheese
  11. Olive oil – 1 tbsp.

Method

  1. Wash and dry the spinach leaves.
  2. Sautee the minced garlic clove in olive oil.
  3. When the clove of garlic is soft, add the onions
  4. Let the onions cook till they are transparent.
  5. Add the green chillies and stir it around for a min
  6. Add the spinach leaves with a pinch of salt.
  7. Cook the spinach leaves till it loses its moisture
  8. While the spinach mixture cools down, preheat the oven to 180C
  9. Grease the pan with a little bit of olive oil and coat it with a thin layer of flour. Tap out the excess flour
  10. Beat the eggs with the salt, cream and a pinch of pepper.
  11. Add the red pepper
  12. Break up the cream cheese and add to this mixture
  13. Mix in the spinach mixture
  14. Pour this into the prepared muffin mould
  15. Sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top of the muffins
  16. Bake for 20 min

This is a change from the regular omelettes.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Starr says:

    Real brain power on dilsapy. Thanks for that answer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

