Pound Cake on my mind

pound-cake-1
I am a struggling blogger. I like to think about food, write about food and all my photographs are at its best when it’s about food. But how do I blog regularly? I want to do it consistently.

Strategizing this in mind, and shuffling lots of things that are there on my plate right now (including my lazing around binge watching Grey’s Anatomy), my favorite movie came into mind, Julie and Julia.

Julie started her blogging journey by cooking through Julia’s Joy of Cooking in 365 days. I don’t think I have that patience or perseverance to complete a cook book!  Mainly, because some of the recipes in cookbooks really scare me! I am not that courageous..

This got me to think of what I really enjoy doing in my kitchen. Baking!!! That just popped in my mind. It gives me joy to see the mixture of flour, sugar, eggs, butter and some leavening agents rise into this golden beauty – The Cake.

For cakes, my go to cookbook is The Cake Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum. Even though I have read through the recipes in this book a lot of times, this book destressess me. It is my bedtime story book.

Opening up this book, I saw the recipe of the Pound cake. This recipe has turned out a flop for me for around 3-4 times!!! I have searched far and wide through the web for the ratings of this recipe and the rating goes through the roof!! People have sworn by it!!! I decided to try my luck at it once more..

I broke out a new pack of butter and new bag of flour and got down to making this cake. You won’t believe it, this turned out to be the best, moist, tender, melt in your mouth Pound cake!!!!

The pound cake is a simple cake. Yes!! the pound cake is simple. All you need is a pound of everything! The pound cake can take on tons of flavours. From the basic buttery goodness to the most complex flavour combinations, the pound cake is a good cake that can carry of tons of permutations and combinations.

So yes, I am challenging myself to bake one pound cake a day for a week. I will bake all my favourite flavours, plus some combinations that are playing out in my mind. Let’s see how that goes!!! Keeping my fingers crossed..

pound-cake-4

Ingredients

  1. Milk – 3 tbsp
  2. Eggs – 3 large
  3. Vanilla – 1 ½ tsp
  4. Sifted cake flour – 1 ½ cups (150gm)
  5. Sugar – ¾ cup (150 gm)
  6. Baking powder – ¾ tsp
  7. Salt – ¼ tsp
  8. Unsalted butter softened to room temp– 13 tbsp (184 gms)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F/176C
  2. In a medium bowl lightly mix milk, eggs and vanilla
  3. In a large mixing bowl combine all the dry ingredients. At a low speed on your mixer combine the ingredients for 30 sec
  4. Add all of the butter and half of the egg mixture. Mix on low speed until all the ingredients are moistened
  5. Now increase the speed of the mixer to medium and let it beat for a minute
  6. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Gradually add the egg mixture in two batches, beating 20 sec after each addition.
  7. Butter and flour a baking pan. Loaf pans are the best for a pound cake. Place a parchment paper lengthwise, so that there are overhanging pieces on both the sides of the pan.
  8. Pour the batter into the pan so that the batter is ½ inch form the top.
  9. Bake in the preheated oven for 55 – 65 min.
  10. Make sure to check on the cake after 35 min. If the top part is browning quickly place a foil paper loosely on top of the cake and continue baking
  11. The cake is perfectly cooked if a wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  12. Cool the cake in the pan for 10 min. Then take it out from the pan and cool completely on a wire rack.

If you are like me, you can’t resist cutting the cake it while its warm!

I have just wrote the basic steps for making the cake. Do buy The Cake Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum if you are cake baking enthusiast. You will love her recipes and the way she writes in detail about a recipe.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I have the Cake Bible and the only recipe I baked from that book happens to be this pound cake as well! 😀 I haven’t gone back to that book too frequently though would love to… And baking a pound cake every day for a week?? Good luck… I would love to bake but then the thought of me binging on it makes me never want to make them… hehe…

    Like

    1. Zerin Bobby Hussain says:

      I have that fear of binging too… but in shaa Allah!!! Let me give it a try!! The book is too good for cakes. I always take my recipes from this book. It’s foolproof. Never bought a cookbook for cakes after this!! Very detailed and theoretical. She has a thesis on measuring out flour or some process in baking, I don’t remember exactly. I had read it some time back. The kind of work she has done on baking is unimaginable!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

