Paneer Roti

stuffed paneer rotiWith all the things I have been posting, you might be thinking I have ditched my diet…

No! I have not. This diet is my personal best. Thanks to my trainer, Iram from S.Q.U.A.T.S,  the changing meal plans have helped me and my BH to keep on to the diet. Yes, we are both in a fitness mode. Trying to get back to shape (I always have been a fan of the circle shape!!).

I have been meaning to post the recipes that I have made during this diet, but I only have crappy pictures of the dishes. But I think I will post those recipes anyways. These pics are mainly on the go, so no fancy props and settings.

What I think is if we can cook food to taste good, no diet is difficult. I have started taking pictures when making these dishes.

I have tried to innovate on the things that we are allowed to eat during this diet. A staple of this diet is Paneer. I am not a paneer lover, nor do I have a hate relationship with it. But, I am sure I have eaten more paneer this month than I have eaten my entire life.

With some help from the Facebook group D3-Health food service I have come across some interesting recipes. One such recipe was this dosa-roti kind of thing with paneer.  On seeing this, I thought what a relief!

The main problem with not having any carbs is the absence of rice or rotis to eat our meat and paneer with. I thought this is a nice way of making a pseudo roti. But since paneer is soft, I did not get a roti or dosa kind of finish with this. So I made it kind of like a stuffed roti. Batter made out of paneer and topped with all the veggies. This made for a filling meal.
ingredients for paneer roti

Ingredients

  1. Paneer – 100gms
  2. Cheese – 20 gms (Mozarella or parmesan)
  3. Chilli powder – a pinch
  4. Pepper powder – ¼ tsp
  5. Salt – ¼ tsp
  6. Dried Oregano – a pinch
  7. Egg -1
  8. For veggies, you can use anything that fancies you. I used, Capsicum (red and green), onion and broccoli
  9. Butter/ghee – 1 tbsp

crumbled paneerMethod

  1. Crumble the paneer and mix in the cheese, chilli powder, pepper powder, salt and oregano. Let it all blend together.
  2. Add the egg and mix it till you get a semi thick batter (like pancake or idli batter).
  3. With a little bit of butter in the pan, sauté the veggies and keep aside
  4. In the same pan, with a little bit of the butter pour in the batter.paneer roti batter
  5. Once the batter starts setting, spread around a tbsp. of the sautéed veggies.
  6. If you want, you can reserve some of the cheese and sprinkle on top of the roti.
  7. Close the pan and cook it on very low flame.
  8. If you think you want to brown the top of the roti, flip it and cook for another min on high flame.

paneer rotiThat’s it. Done!

The batter is a good base for quite a lot of ingredients.  You don’t have to be on a diet to make this. It’s a great snack.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. shaziss says:

    Wooow that’s an interesting recipe!!😍😍I’m planning to start diet for a very long time🙈In sha Allah soon!hehe!😁

    Like

    1. Zerin Bobby Hussain says:

      In shaa Allah!! Starting it is a big step… Best Of Luck.. Any support you need, do let me know.

      Like

  2. ShabnaAhamed(shabsFlavours) says:

    wow…something i have never seen …. will defnitely try it out

    Like

Leave a Reply

